The Trial of Me

Uncanny X-men #350

    “What is it that pulls a man in many directions all at once. . .
    . . . But which at the same time. . .
    . . . Also holds a man together?”

A few days ago, I was skimping through my comic collection and came across this: Uncanny X-men #350 – The Trial Of Gambit. I remember when I started reading comics in 1997, this was one of my most coveted comics, because it was such a turning point in Gambit‘s and the X-men‘s life. The tagline? “Gambit’s greatest secret revealed. . . and some sins can never be forgiven!”

I relate to Gambit’s plight because he only wants for his history to be kept in the skeleton closet, but when forced to unlock it, he is afraid of the repurcussions. In a few hours, I’ll be headed for Encounter Camp, but presently I feel my heart is not in the right place for it.

Gambit knew he had to get through his trial and I know I have to too, but if you know what happened to him in the story, then you can harbor a guess at what will happen to me. I should mention that this is probably the best and last opportunity to experience Him.

My life has been turbulent recently, a bump here and there, but I always believed that things will get better eventually, so I hope this is that time. Thinking back on the pebbled track I found and journeyed through, it’ll be a tragedy to lose my way again. It has been too gloryingly amazing to end like this, so please don’t.

Lord Father, give me the helping hand that I have been praying for. That’s all I need.

    “What is it that pulls a man in many directions all at once. . .
    . . . But which at the same time. . .
    . . . Also holds a man together?

    “It is his soul.

    “And whether good. . .
    . . . Or evil. . .
    . . . Or a combination of both. . .
    . . . A man cannot escape the urgings of his soul.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Books/Comics, Christ

Leave a Reply

