UMich 55 – Eastern Michigan University 0

VS Eastern Michigan University
A much needed morale booster after last week’s disappointing performance

When your heart starts singing silently within your organic shell in the untimeliest of situations, you know something big is aloof. Listen to 100,000 people sing their national anthem with pride, and after the last line of “Home of the brave”, there is thunderous applause and astounding cheers.

The Star Spangled Banner has very patriotic lyrics, and the people who sing it are even more patriotic. You just can’t help reflecting (and comparing) between Singapore and America in that respect. You may perceive Americans as rowdy and unequivocally arrogant, but when it comes to the crunch, they would die for each other.

We Singaporeans are just a selfish bunch, with no national pride like the American pride, and you can expect us to fend for ourselves when that same need arises. That’s how I feel. I’ll protect and give my life for the people I love and care about, but they will always be my first priority.

Maybe if Singapore can change its system of thought through the generations, one day we’ll have a land as great as America.

8 Comments

Filed under Singapore, Sports

8 responses to “UMich 55 – Eastern Michigan University 0

  1. someone

    in that respect, i believe you are wrong to say that singaporeans are a selfish bunch without national pride. i have been working with people who are fighting to bring glory to sg, giving their free time day after day. when we are overseas and see our flag flying and national anthem booming..you can hear no louder people than us.

    perhaps it’s the people you meet. perhaps it’s you. but not every singaporean are selfish and without national pride. just as not every american is.

  2. someone else

    just maybe…people are selfish because there are all the love ones they have (that you don’t see) they want to protect as well.

    do you really think it’s always about themselves? or your prejudices?

  3. Ted K

    Haha I always get criticized when I talk badly about Singapore. If you belong to the generation of pre-independence and the early ages of post-independence, then perhaps you can feel some pride of achievement.

    But we lost our soul sometime along the way. The younger generation these days see Singapore as a resource to suck dry.

    The greatest thing I miss is the people I care for, but I don’t miss the land. If I had all the people I care for here, I could live in Ann Arbor happily, but maybe you’re right I don’t have anyone (other than my family) who loves me that much as I would wish.

    I miss her, and I wish she could be with me. I’m reverting back to my old self

  4. someone

    it’s just the people you hang out with then. i was born in 1980 and nothing have stopped me from loving the country. and with all due respect to all the americans have done. i think america sucks quite abit. with all the news i read from every agency i can get my hands on. the place is a big mess.

    but as with almost everything generalised. it’s not 100% true. america have some great things and people. and singapore have some sucky people and things.

    gain some lose some. it’s all up to ourselves to make of what we want to do with ourselves, i believe.

    opinions are like assholes. everyone have one, and usually stink if it’s not yours.;-)

  5. someone

    nit picking here ted,
    star SPANGLED banner. not stangled.=)

  6. Ted K

    Haha maybe I intended that! Sounds like strangled…ah well. Totally agree with your previous comment too.

    Except that I don’t think other people’s opinions stink. =)

  7. Jeff

    Did you notice I was singing along at the time? America rocks! (tongue-in-cheek)

    O say can you see by the dawn’s early light
    What so proudly we hail’d at the twilight’s last gleaming
    Whose broad stripes and bright stars through the perilous fight
    O’er the ramparts we watched were so gallantly streaming

    And the rocket’s red glare, the bomb bursting in air
    Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there
    O say does that star-spangled banner yet wave
    O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave

  8. Ted K

    were u really singing? I didn’t notice…I was definitely standing in respect but I don’t know the whole lyrics of the song. Heh

Leave a Reply

