Daily Archives: June 30, 2005

A Calling

Hideo Asano
Hideo Asano

Something. . . interesting happened today.

After spending a couple of hours with Anthony talking about Christ, I decided to head over to the Kinokuniya bookstore to scavenge whatever is left of the current summer sale.

As I was scanning through the literature section, this 59-year-old man came up to me and started babbling about reading books or no books. To cut a long conversation short, he’s got a serious hard-on for commerical fiction, or rather the vultures of capitalism – the businessmen – who prey on the public suckers’ money by producing all sorts of nonsense goods with no real value.

Ten minutes of somewhat heated debate later, I found out this man is Hideo Asano, a native Japanese, a Hemingway adorer, who has lived around the world. The crazy thing is that I actually have the same mentality as he does; a love for true literature and disdain for the pure capitalist. And he is actually how I envisioned myself – a writer who struggles to make a living.

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Christ, Singapore